Big Tepee District

Districts are the administrative divisions of the council and help packs, troops, crews, ships, and posts succeed in running the program of the Boy Scouts of America. A district is comprised of a committee of volunteers who organize membership recruiting, new unit formation, fundraising, programs, and assistance for all the units in the district.

Subscribe to Big Tepee Newsletter

Please click on picture above to register your Unit for Scouting for Food. 

 Big Tepee Twilight Camp

This years Twilight Camp was a great success even with the change in venue and the weather. Thanks to all the staff and walking leaders that help make this year's camp a success.





David Atkinson                            Arlene Vogel
BT Twilight Camp Director          BT Twilight Program Director
Big Tepee District, LFC               Big Tepee District, LFC       
405.641.2288                             910.546.4226

2018 Leader Recognition Banquet


Big Tepee held their Annual Leader's on January 24th, to recognized outstanding Leaders in the District for 2018. 
Den Leader of the Year - Justin Shepherd (Pack 277)
Cubmaster of the Year - Allen DeShazo (Pack 210)
Pack Committee Member of the Year - Michelle Alvarez (Pack 210)
Scoutmaster of the Year - David Elmquist (Troop 87)
Troop Committee Member of the Year - Cory Bruce (Troop 275)
Scouting Family of the Year Jim, Angela and Jacob Collier (Pack 277/Troop 147)
Extra Miler - Michael Palmer (BT District)
Extra Miler - Roberta Woodward (Pack 911)
Extra Miler - Amanda Meyer (Pack 277)
Extra Miler - Clint Hammond (Pack 280)
District Award of Merit - Jim Collier (Pack 277/Troop 147)
District Award of Merit - Fran Stephens (Pack 87/Troop 87) 
Please help us in congratulating these outstanding leaders.

Big Tepee also introduced their new Committee for 2019

District Chair - Andy Fugate
Dist. Vice-Chair - Kent Dickey
Membership Chair - David Elmquist
Program Chair - David Atkinson
Activities and Civic Service Chair - Ryan Vogel
Training Char - Mitzi Winstead
Advancement and Recognition Chair - Bob Frutchey
Eagle Board Chair - Steve Hamlin
OA Chapter Advisor - George Barks
Dist. Commissioner - Tim Reynolds
Community Executive - Arlene Vogel
Dist Executive - Dan Sewell

Thank You Mitzi Winstead and her staff for providing us with an excellent banquet.


Martin Luther King Jr. Parade

Big Tepee District and New Horizon's District participated in the Martin Luther King Jr. Parade on January 21st. Here are some pictures of the scouts.




Big Tepee District Annual Pinewood Derby Build Day



The Big Tepee District  Pinewood Derby Build Clinic, was a huge success. Thanks to all those that volunteered to make this event happen.

Big Tepee Veterans Day Flag Retirement

Thanks to all the men and women who have or are serving in our military. Last night, the Big Tepee District of the Boy Scout of America conducted it’s 25th annual Veterans Day Flag Retirement Ceremony. Hosted by Troop 275 of Choctaw, the event saw the total flags retired to go over 28,000. Current and former members of the military laid flags on the fire for each war and major conflict starting with World War I. The public was also given the opportunity to place a flag on the fire to honor friends and family for their service.


Big Tepee Webelos Woods

We had great weather for Webelos Woods this weekend. It was a great opportunity for the Webelos to learn some outdoor skills while visiting the various Troops. Webelos were able to see how they operate and help them make their decision on which Troop to crossover to.

Thank you Ryan Vogel for chairing this years Webelos Woods and making it a great success. 

Opening Flag Ceremony                                                            Cooking

Fire Building                                                                                 First Aid

Orienteering                                                                                Wilderness Survival                           

Making Patrol Flags                                                                             Scouts Own Service

Position Name Telephone
District Commissioner, Big Tepee Tim Reynolds (405) 365-6265 Email
District Executive, Big Tepee Daniel Sewell (720) 667-9998 Email
Community Executive, Big Tepee Arlene Vogel (910) 546-4226 Email

Big Tepee Recurring  Events
Event Date Time  Location Contact
BT District Committee Meeting 1st Tuesday 6:30 pm Midwest Blvd Christian Church Dan Sewell
BT Round Table 3rd Tuesday 7:00 pm Del City Community Center David Atkinson
BT Eagle Boards 3rd Saturday 9:00 am St. Matthews UMC Steve Hamlin
BT OA Chapter Meeting 3rd Tuesday 7:00 pm Del City Community Center George Barks